Animal Ethics Committee

Institutional Animal Ethics Committee (IAEC) of Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute of Medical Sciences, Lucknow is registered with Committee for the Purpose of Control and Supervision of Experiments on Animals (CPCSEA- a statuary body under the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act 1960).

IAEC reviews both small and large animal research protocols. IAEC approvesonly small animal protocols and forward large animal protocols to CPCSEA for approval, with its recommendation.

IAEC, SGPGIMS convenes mandatory two meetings in a year in which new protocols, progress of previously approved protocols are reviewed. IAEC also inspect and suggest for optimal functioning of Animal House Facility.

IAEC has 5 internal institutional members and 4 members nominated by CPCSEA, Govt. of India. Current committee members are as follows:

A. Institutional Members

Amit Agarwal CMS, Nodal Officer Animal House  Chairman
SwastiTIwari Prof. & Head, Dept. of Mol. Med. & Biotech  Sci. Dif. discipline
VikasAgarwal Prof., Dept. of Immuno&Rheumatology  Biological Scientist
Manish Dixit Asso. Prof., Dept. of Nuclear Medicine  Sci. Dif. discipline
A. K. Baranwal Scientist I, Animal House Member Secretary


B.CPCSEA Nominated Members

D. S. Upadhyay Chief Scientist & Head, LAF, CDRI  CPCSEA Main Nominee 
Mahadeo Kumar Sr. Scientist, AF, CSIR-IITR, Lucknow CPCSEA Link Nominee
Dr Rajesh Kumar Jha Scientist, Dept. of Endocrinology, CDRI CPCSEA Sci. Nominee
Aaditya Singh AP, Dept. of Pharmacology, Aryakul College CPCSEA SA. Nominee